top of page

Process of a holotropic workshop

An experience in holotropic breathwork, be it in combination with shamanic work or alone, consists of the preparation, the session, which consists of the actual breathwork and possibly shamanic elements, as well as the integration. The transitions are fluid.

Put simply, it is a "surfing" in states of changed consciousness in which the ego has ceased to be a point of reference and focus. Instead, the personal ego now keeps its balance in the waves of the ocean of consciousness and becomes an attentive witness of what is happening. The ego has given up its claim to absoluteness in favor of the "mind", the spirit, in whose dynamics and movement the essential thing is waking up. "

Ingo B. Jahrsetz

 

 

"Holotropic breathwork is a more controllable process [compared to taking a psychedelic substance], since you're starting and stopping on your own.

The voluntary nature of it is courageous in ways different from taking a psychedelic drug since it requires more of a letting go than being overwhelmed. However, the same voluntary nature means that it's sometimes difficult to overcome your own defenses and delusions. "

Rick Doblin

The preparation of each individual begins subtly with the decision to participate in the workshop; this becomes more specific in a personal conversation in advance to clarify any contraindications and to establish initial contact. At the beginning of the workshop, the theoretical basics and the practical process are explained in a general discussion. The group slowly finds itself.

PREPARATION

SESSION

The actual breathwork session takes place in pairs, with the participants alternating in the roles of breathing (breather) and accompanying (sitter). With their attention, the sitters prepare a kind of "safe space" for the breathers and are available for small assistance such as handkerchiefs, drinks or going to the toilet. The breathers lie on the mattress. After a short relaxation meditation, the music begins with powerful rhythms and the breathers begin to breathe intensely, deeper and faster. This breathing opens the gates to expanded states of consciousness.

From the outside these states can look very differently: some people are completely calm as in deep meditation, some move in the most varied of ways. Some scream, moan, cry, laugh, or speak in unfamiliar languages. Some express fear or anger. Some breathers ask for help in expressing certain emotions or feelings. Looking inside, the whole range of transpersonal experiences is possible. These experiences vary from breather to breather and from workshop to workshop.

The breathing session is an internal and mostly non-verbal process in which external influence is reduced to the absolutely necessary minimum, as long as the breathers do not ask for it. Only at the end of a breathing session, which usually lasts around 3 hours, will you be asked about the health of the breathers. If any tensions or emotions are still physically noticeable, it is advisable to dissolve them with targeted body work or to get them moving.

SHAMANIC WORK

When combined with shamanic work, holotropic breathwork is framed and carried by shamanic elements. These can be guided meditations, despachos (nature-mandalas), energetic rites or other techniques that refer to the Q'ero tradition from the Peruvian highlands. Depending on the individual process, and therefore very differently, they can deepen the experience  or they already help to process it. Together, this results in a space of experience that is always filled and experienced anew. Trust in the inner wisdom of each and every individual forms the basis and allows precisely those elements to be brought to the fore that are the right ones here and now.

Here you find more information about the shamanic journey.

INTEGRATION

Integration often begins on the mattress. In the longer workshops with shamanic work, the transition from session to integration is much more fluid. Primarily it is about giving the body and soul, both of whom have worked hard, the care and space that is necessary to process what has been experienced. This is supported by a creative expression, mostly the painting of mandalas, as well as a first rational processing by formulating the experience in words.

Even in the days after a workshop, breathers are recommended to take care of themselves and treat themselves well. Depending on personal preference, this may include walks in nature, hot baths, creative expression or simply time for yourself. It is important to allow thoughts and emotions to continue to arise and to give them space.

bottom of page

Ablauf eines holotropen Workshops

Eine Erfahrung in holotropen Atmen, sei dies in Kombination mit schamanischer Arbeit oder alleine, besteht aus der Vorbereitung, der Session, die aus der eigentlichen Atemarbeit und gegebenenfalls schamanischen Elementen besteht, sowie der Integration. Die Übergänge sind fliessend.

Platt gesagt ist es nämlich ein "Surfen" in Zuständen Veränderten Bewusstseins, in denen das Ich aufgehört hat, Bezugspunkt und Focus zu sein. Stattdessen hält das persönliche Ich nun die Balance in den Wellen des Bewusstseinsmeeres und wird dabei zu einem aufmerksamen Zeugen von dem, was geschieht. Das Ego hat seinen Absolutheitsanspruch aufgegeben zugunsten des "Geistes", des spirit, in dessen Dynamik und Bewegung das Wesentliche das Wachwerden ist."

Ingo B. Jahrsetz

"Holotropic breathwork is a more controllable process [compared to taking a psychedelic substance], since you’re starting and stopping on your own.

The voluntary nature of it is courageous in ways different from taking a psychedelic drug since it requires more of a letting go than being overwhelmed. However, the same voluntary nature means that it’s sometimes difficult to overcome your own defenses and delusions."

Rick Doblin

Die Vorbereitung jedes Einzelnen beginnt subtil bereits bei der Entscheidung am Workshop teilzunehmen, konkret wird diese bei einem persönlichen Gespräch im Vorfeld zur Abklärung allfälliger Kontraindikationen und zu einer ersten Kontaktaufnahme. zu Beginn des Workshops wird in einer allgemeinen Diskussion auf die theoretischen Grundlagen eingegangen und der praktische Ablauf besprochen. Langsam findet sich die Gruppe.

VORBEREITUNG

SESSION

Die eigentliche Atemsitzung geschieht paarweise, wobei sich die Teilnehmenden in den Rollen als Atmende (Breather) und Begleitende (Sitter) abwechseln. Die Sitter bereiten durch ihre Aufmerksamkeit für die Breather eine Art "sicheren Raumes", und stehen für kleine Hilfestellungen wie Taschentücher, Trinken oder zur Toilette gehen bereit. Die Breather liegen auf der Matratze. Nach einer kurzen Entspannungsmeditation beginnt die Musik mit kraftvollen Rhythmen und die Breather beginnen intensiv tiefer und schneller zu atmen. Diese Atmung öffnet die Tore zu erweiterten Bewusstseinszuständen.

Diese Zustände können ganz unterschiedlich anzuschauen sein: Einige Personen sind komplett ruhig wie in tiefer Meditation, einige bewegen sich auf die unterschiedlichsten Weisen. Einige schreien, stöhnen, weinen, lachen oder reden in unbekannten Sprachen. Einige drücken Angst oder Wut aus. Manche Breather bitten um Hilfe, um gewisse Emotionen oder Gefühle ausdrücken zu können. In der Innenschau ist die ganze Bandbreite der transpersonalen Erfahrungen möglich. Diese Erfahrungen variieren von Breather zu Breather und von Workshop zu Workshop.

Die Atemsitzung ist ein interner und zumeist nonverbaler Prozess, bei dem die äussere Einflussnahme auf das absolut notwendige Minimum reduziert wird, solange die Breather nicht darum bitten. Erst am Ende einer Atemsitzung, die üblicherweise um die 3 Stunden dauert, wird nach dem Befinden der Breather gefragt. Wenn noch irgendwelche Spannungen oder Emotionen körperlich spürbar sind, so empfiehlt es sich diese mit gezielter Köperarbeit aufzulösen oder in Bewegung zu bringen. 

SCHAMANISCHE ARBEIT

In der Kombination mit der schamanischen Arbeit kombinieren wird das holotrope Atmen von schamanischen Elementen eingefasst und getragen. Dies können geführte Meditationen, Despachos (Naturmandalas), energetische Riten oder andere Techniken sein, die sich auf die Tradition der Qero aus dem peruanischen Hochland berufen. Je nach individuellem Prozess, und damit sehr unterschiedlich, können diese die gemachte Erfahrung weiter vertiefen oder sie helfen bereits diese zu verarbeiten. Zusammen ergibt dies einen Erfahrungsraum, der immer wieder neu gefüllt und erlebt wird. Das Vertrauen in die innere Weisheit jedes und jeder Einzelnen bildet die Grundlage und erlaubt genau die Elemente in den Vordergrund zu rücken, die hier und jetzt die Richtigen sind.

Weitere Informationen zur schamanischen Reise findest Du hier.  

INTEGRATION

Die Integration beginnt häufig noch auf der Matratze. In den längeren Workshops mit schamanischer Arbeit ist der Übergang von Session zu Integration viel fliessender. Primär geht es darum dem Körper und der Seele, die beide schwer gearbeitet haben, die Zuwendung und den Raum zu geben, der für eine Verarbeitung des Erlebten notwendig ist. Dies wird durch einen kreativen Ausdruck, meistens dem Malen von Mandalas, sowie einer ersten rationalen Verarbeitung durch das Formulieren der Erfahrung in Worte unterstützt.

Auch in den Tagen nach einem Workshop wird den Breathern empfohlen sich selber zu schonen und sich gut zu behandeln. Je nach persönlicher Vorliebe sind dies unter vielem anderen Spaziergänge in der Natur, heisse Bäder, kreativer Ausdruck oder auch einfach Zeit für sich selber. Wichtig ist es, weiterhin aufkommende Gedanken und Emotionen zuzulassen und ihnen Raum zu geben.